T20 Blast: Durham defeats Lancashire to end an unbeaten start. Friday round-up

Photo of author

By FredrickHobbs

T20 Blast: Durham defeats Lancashire to end an unbeaten start. Friday round-up

Photo of author

By FredrickHobbs

The unbeaten Lancashire Lightning start to the T20 Blast was ended with a defeat at Durham of two wickets.

Never Miss: https://www.enjoy-sports-life.com/england-vs-new-zealand/

The North Group leaders were defeated by 130, before Ned Eckersley’s 46. A late appearance from Liam Trevaskis brought Chester-le-Street to 131-8.

After taming their opponents for 101, the Yorkshire Vikings won a 10-wicket win at Birmingham Bears.

Bottom of the table, Worcestershire Rapids lost to Derbyshire Falcons again at home. Alex Hales was the star batsman as Notts Outlaws defeated East Midlands rivals Leicestershire Foxes.

Hampshire Hawks won the South Group with a narrow win at Glamorgan. Kent Spitfires, the defending champions, only picked up their second win when they beat Somerset.

Essex Eagles defeated Middlesex, while Sussex Sharks were defeated by Gloucestershire.

North Group
The total score of 130 in Lancashire, after Steven Croft’s 55, was way below par.

Richard Gleeson’s 4-19 burst left Durham at 111-8, and ultimately required 18 runs in the last two overs.

Liam Hurt conceded only two of the three penultimate balls, but Trevaskis stuck him for four- and six-balls and Durham easily knocked off five from Danny Lamb’s last ball.

Skipper David Willey was the star of the ball for Yorkshire Vikings. He took 3-17 wickets as Birmingham Bears were outscored in 16.5 overs at Edgbaston.

The Vikings’ openers Adam Lyth (58 out) and Dawid Malan (38 out) made quick work of the chase, leading them to 106-0 with just 7.1 overs.

Also Read: https://www.enjoyedsports.com/the-five-factors-that-influenced/

Yorkshire moves up to fourth place in the table, one point behind third-place Bears.

The Notts Outlaws were also able to win the chase for Leicestershire Foxes’ below par 123 all out.

Opener Hales hit 44 balls off 16 balls, before Naveen-ul Haq (2-21), dismissed him. Ben Duckett’s unbeaten 44 off 23, however, saw the two-time winner to 127-5 in 13.2 innings.

The Worcestershire Rapids suffered their seventh defeat in eight matches, falling by 39 runs to Derbyshire.

Shan Masood, Falcons captain, made it back to back fifties with his 65 off 47 balls that helped New Road win 168-7.

Moeen Ali, Rapids skipper, was out first ball to Mark Watt. Worcestershire then recovered to 92-3 through Brett D’Oliveira (55) & Jack Haynes (35)

The innings collapsed as the run-rate increased and the 2018 champions finished on 129-9.

Most Popular:   https://www.sportingliving.com/indian-cricketssleepy-girl/

South Group

Gloucestershire managed an amazing fightback against the ball at Hove, led by pacemen Zak Chappell (3-19) and David Payne (3-17).

When Sussex were 118-2 in 14th over, it appeared that they were on track to reach their target of146. However, spinner Tom Smith took two wickets in three balls and Tom Alsop scored 82.

The Sharks lost their final eight wickets, scoring just 23 runs. They were bowled out for 141 by the end of the last over.

The last year’s winners, Kent Spitfires, were the only side that passed 200 on a night with low totals. They made 202-7 at Taunton.

Jordan Cox was the top scorer with a career-best score of 94 from 47 balls, while Somerset came in second place with 170-9.

Hampshire was able to hold Glamorgan at 134-4 for a win of nine runs at Sophia Gardens.

Joe Weatherley scored 46 runs from 36 balls for Hawks, and James Vince continued his excellent form with 44 runs on a difficult pitch.

Brad Wheal, Paceman (5-38), then tore through hosts as they fell from 63-2 to just 125.

Paul Walter (58 not out), Feroze Khushi (67), and Paul Walter (58) were the stars of the Essex Eagles bat team, sharing a stand totaling 69 in their 186-6 win against Middlesex at Chelmsford.

Must Read: https://www.sports-great.com/jon-lewis-englan…ll-to-bowl-first/

Without Eoin Morgan as England limited-overs captain, the visitors collapsed at 104-4 to just 125 runs. Sam Cook and Matt Critchley took three wickets each.